Month: May 2010

  • My Boys

    Our sweet, sensitive little guy spilled his heart out to me at bedtime.  He was sad and mad that Ellie and Em didn't want to play with him today, but played with Violeta and many other girls at recess.  Violeta had a hula hoop....so, what kid wouldn't want to play with her?  He talked himself through how sad he was....and then told me when he was walking by himself on the sidewalk and two other kids asked him what happened, he just pouted more and walked away.  And then said, but "Mama, I knew Jesus was with me, he's ALWAYS with me."   He said he didn't want Violeta to bring that hula hoop to school anymore, because he wants Em and Ellie to play with him.  He asked how to tell her not to bring it again, Malachi proceeded to tell him what to say to her in Spanish.  Then a few minutes later Elijah says, "you know it did look like lots of fun.  I want to play with them too.And girls are kind, maybe she'll let me play too. How do I ask her to play too?"  Malachi told him what to say in Spanish....and gave a mini-language lesson on using vos if it is only one person and ustedes if it is more than one person.   My amazing Malachi boy,   

    The lesson in all this, at first I tried to solve it for him, then I stepped back and  just listened and he talked and talked and talked and 15 minutes later he solved the problem all by himself.  I have some amazing boys.

  • A List

    1.  We can't wait to move to the new place....it's 2 upstairs apartments....4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and 2 kitchens and a huge passage way on the first floor that we'll be able to use for storage.
    2. Renting it was a team effort...crazily, the only people who didn't sign the rental contract are Deb and I, so yeah, Nate, Rich, Jil and Brian signed it.  Funny, crazy, and weird.....all decided by the property management company. It's the same company that rented to Rich and Jil and the team office that is below their house....so that must be why they signed it. 
    3.  Jil and I cleaned it today. 
    4.  The yard is MUCH bigger than I thought.
    5. I think I'm finally over the guilt of how absolutely fabulous this place is and that it IS an answer to prayer and God's provision for us.  God cares about us.....and me...and my sanity.
    6. We have to wait for the electric meter to be reinstalled and then we'll move. 
    7. We got our tv back tonight, and it WAS fixable and we watched Fantastic Mr. Fox......it was funny.
    8.  I have itchy hives all over my body....and I have no idea why.
    9.  Pictures sometime in the near future of the new place.....and hopefully, it won't take us 6 months to get internet and phone service just two streets over. 
    10.  Tomorrow we try again to figure out my Argentine document.  Hoping we make some more progress on it all.