Month: August 2010

  • 11th Anniversary

    Brian surprised me with a trip to Buenos Aires last Sunday to celebrate our anniversary.  The E's and the D's took turns watching our kids. (Thanks so much guys!) And we headed to the city for a day of fun surprises.  First we went to San Telmo, it's one of the oldest parts of the city and is now known for it's antique stores and antique fair every weekend.  We had a blast looking around and taking photos(there is a link here).  Then we went to Recoleta (where the famous cemetery is) and walked around the artisan fair there.  What was so wonderful about it is that it isn't just for tourists, there were a TON of people there, and I heard Spanish more often spoken than English.  And I love to see all the crazy, beautiful, and amazing things people make.  I don't think I'll be buying any little wooden ships in lightbulbs, but I did find some jewelry for myself.  We ate lunch outside, spring is coming, and it's been in the 60's this last week during the day.  Then we sat on a huge hill and listened to a group of young guys drumming.  The next surprise was a show called Fuerza Bruta(there's a link here too).....that I was so skeptical of when we first got in line and I kept asking a gazillion questions.  Brian didn't answer most of my questions, but I figured this would have to be better than the circus we went to last month, and if only a little bit well then, at least something to mock for years to come.  But it turned out to be pretty amazing and surprisingly fun and we danced and got rained on.  We then made our way around some displays of photographs from people around the world,that was in the same building as the show.  We ate dinner at TGIFriday's....some yummy ribs and salmon and a delicious mojito and then walked around the old port in B.A. and took some more fun photos.  We had so much fun together, so very much fun.  I wish we could do more things like this more often!

     

    In San Telmo

    IMG_3293

     

    At Fuerza Bruta

    IMG_3295

     

     

    All while standing for the whole performance, we had wind blown at us, paper thrown at us, a tarp waved on us, Brian was kissed on his forehead by one of the performers, and we got rained on.  It was crazy fun.

    IMG_3317

     

  • Elijah goes to the Museum

    He's going on his first field trip and I'm really nervous.  Brian convinced me to let him go.  So, off he goes.  We found out about the field trip on Friday and Monday I wrote a note offering to go, because nothing was said about chaperones.  And I got no response back....so I really don't know how many chaperones they have.....or if only the extra teachers from his school are going or what.  I DON'T KNOW and it is sort of driving me crazy.  I'm praying a lot.  I stuck a piece of paper in his pocket with his name and our numbers.  And told him not to walk off by himself...and I gave him several other instructions.  They are going to the Natural Science Museum here in La Plata, we've been to it before.  His class just finished a unit on dinosaurs, so they are going to the museum to see the dinosaur bones.  I don't think I'd be nearly as worried if this was Malachi's trip to the museum, but Elijah doesn't quite speak Spanish as well as his brother yet, and well he doesn't quite understand it as well, either.  So.....I'm praying a lot.

  • Some Basketball Highlights

     

    You'll find all three of our boys in this video.  One of the coaches often lets Zekey practice with the other boys for 10 minutes on Tues. and Thurs.  At the Saturday game, he put a jersey on Zekey and tried to put him in the game......Zekey didn't want anything to do with that! (BTW, he's not ready for that anyway!)

  • Home Sweet Home

    From 2010 8-5 download

    I've waited way too long to update but, here it is, our new place.  The answer to so many prayers, and we truly are thankful.  It still isn't without it's quirks, but my sighs now are much more from relief than "oh my goodness, how am I ever gonna be able to stay here."   The amount of space has revolutionized my life.....I can sit in a room and read and even close a door not to be disturbed(this sometimes happens when the boys are at school and Zeke is napping) and I have my own table for scrapbooking and computer space too, and well  more room for clothes drying and play space for the boys.  It's brought much relief to my life.  Brian mentioned this example to me today....he just went away for four days and everything went well while he was gone....not that the boys didn't have some totally outrageously disobedient moments, but I was better able to handle them.  I've been an emotional roller coaster for way too long.....and it feels good to not cry all the time and not feel so emotionally out of control.  Some of the chaos is disappearing.....that's wonderful. And I think I may be able to start blogging again some more.  happy